JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I was poking around the web for answers to a question about giving a relative a pistol I have and found this site. Wow, never knew it was around. :(

I'm an Oregon and Utah concealed carry permit holder and was trying to find out how I can give my daughter in Washington State a pistol of mine. Getting up in years and want to dispose of my property before I pass.

I know Oregon has recently passed new "transfer" laws and don't know whether they have an effect on me giving her a pistol, since I'm a resident of Oregon and she is of Washington.

What paperwork is involved and how do I go about with a transfer? Is is just a matter of handing it to her, or does she need a background check (no problems)?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.
Bill

I was poking around the web for answers to a question about giving a relative a pistol I have and found this site. Wow, never knew it was around. :(

I'm an Oregon and Utah concealed carry permit holder and was trying to find out how I can give my daughter in Washington State a pistol of mine. Getting up in years and want to dispose of my property before I pass.

I know Oregon has recently passed new "transfer" laws and don't know whether they have an effect on me giving her a pistol, since I'm a resident of Oregon and she is of Washington.

What paperwork is involved and how do I go about with a transfer? Is is just a matter of handing it to her, or does she need a background check (no problems)?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.
Bill

The state transfer law is irrelevant. The Federal law for interstate transfers says FFL transfer in her home state.

To whom may an unlicensed person transfer firearms under the GCA? | Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives